Breaking camp

It is time for a change – again. Those who know and surround me may not understand or condone it, and truthfully in part I myself am wondering if I am just uprooting and moving on again, because I can't stay… rather than because I don't wish to. Maybe that is why I am packing up and heading off under the cover of darkness. No awkward goodbyes, no questions… and most importantly, no one wanting to stop me or tag along. 

That said, it was no secret to anyone that the camp I made was only supposed to be temporary, …a refuge if you will. And I feel the time has come to demand a little more than just shelter from the elements and somewhere settled to return to at the end of the day. 

I'm on the move again now, doing the only thing I do well… the only thing I know how to do, really. Roaming. Without destination or ambition… solely for the journey itself. And for whatever I may find along the way. I wasn't made to stand still or remain in one place for any length of time. I wasn't made for the life I have been living lately.

Instinctively, I know I shouldn't look back. Not this time. But I know I will. And I know that it will take me a while to break loose this time. But the only other alternative is staying and hoping… and that I cannot do anymore. It isn't good or right for me. The horizon is too close now… the world too small and closing in on me…

Aut viam inveniam aut faciam – I will find a way, or make one….

Breaking camp

Leave a Reply

