Do you feel lucky today?

Life’s messy and predictable only as far as the certainty that it’s pretty much impossible to predict anything at all. And yet, I try. Try to make sense of things. To see patterns. To form references that will give me that crucial heads-up before everything changes on me again. And I know it will. It always does. And always when it’s least expected.

Sometimes I get it right. Sometimes not. Most times though I am not so surprised to see that I simply end up creating what I was expecting to see. Which I guess just makes it all the more fascinating – that tenacious persistance to keep trying. With the success rate I – and I guess most of us – can flaunt it would seem tempting to devise a new strategy. Yet somehow the belief in foresight – for better or worse – remains the most common weapon of choice to arm with before the next step.

Kind of impressive, actually, when thinking about it… that incorrigible optimism in the face of odds like that. And perhaps most impressive of all is that it really does seem to make a difference.

“The best thing about the future
is that it only comes one day at a time”

Abraham Lincoln

It gives us time and lots of chances to find a way to hope for the best.
We might as well – after all, what do we have to lose?

Do you feel lucky today?

7 thoughts on “Do you feel lucky today?

  1. Scattered Rayn says:

    @5#
    “I can’t seem to ever shut up!”
    GOOD!!! 😉 I’m enjoying all the thoughts you bring to this, so by all means…!

    You’ve given me a lot to ponder… who knows, maybe I’ll actually end up writing that other entry I spoke of in 4# lol

  2. whirlwindofemotions says:

    I can’t seem to ever shut up!

    We are so scared of going for the things we want, so to hide the hurt and pain when things don’t go as planned we pretend we lost nothing. Makes us seem invincible to the rest of the world, when only we know exactly what we lost.

    You’re welcome! 🙂

  3. Scattered Rayn says:

    OR… we tell ourselves that we have nothing to lose so that it won’t seem like we’re running such a big risk. Guts grown on denial… *chuckles*… this could turn into an entirely new entry all on its own.

    Thank you for adding your thoughts, whirlwind!

  4. whirlwindofemotions says:

    Of course there always is! Why do we say we have nothing to lose? Because we are unaware of that which we possess,and if lost, we would realise we did have something to lose after all. 😀

  5. scatteredrayn says:

    Thanks! I think there’s always something to lose, though. Even when we claim there isn’t… 😉

  6. whirlwindofemotions says:

    Well a person who has nothing to lose ends up losing nothing. When hope is all we have, why not take a chance on it? A lovely piece of writing!

Leave a Reply

