If it ain't Baroque…

Sometimes, all I have is music. Simple notes and melodies that take the place of things without voices of their own… and for a while I let can let myself  get lost in the life they breathe into each other. The music and all the thoughts and feelings that it brings out. The two almost become indistinguishable and seamless. Merged in a way that seems only visible to me. At least, that’s how it feels.

There are times when I close my eyes and just listen. Let the music take me away, tell me stories and show me images. I used to write about it. Used to write out what I saw and felt and heard in the notes. Other times, I just let it fill me up until there is no room for anything else.

One of my all time favourites is this one… enjoy…

If it ain't Baroque…

6 thoughts on “If it ain't Baroque…

  1. I love this piece of music. It reminds me of childhood as it was one of the earliest pieces of classical music that I remember being able to identify. My mother used to play it on the accordion – which has to be heard to be believed.

    Music has always been able to hold me, my thoughts, my silence and anything else that I needed, so I share the sentiments expressed here. Here is a piece that has always been able to stop me – regardless of mood. This is the Jacqueline du Pré interpretation. I particularly like the way that she takes time with it.

    Error

    This video doesn’t exist

    P.S.: This is the first time I’ve tried sharing a video link in a comment, so here goes. I hope it works.

  2. Scattered Rayn says:

    Am listening while I respond to this (anything for a good excuse to put off bedtime 😀 )

    I have a thing for Tchaikovsky myself… but most often with this kind of music as with every other kind I tend to forget about names and titles and who-dunnit’s in favour of just listening … I love the stories told in the music…

    Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Whirlwind of emotions says:

    Ah classical music conveys feelings and moods better than any other medium. Bach is pretty amazing too, as is Mozart and Handel, Chopin, Vivaldi and I could go on.

    Have a listen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

