Weekly Photo Challenge: Abundance

Half finished dinner plateThere is no happiness in sheer abundance, nor any fulfilment in having everything. Those things lie exclusively in having enough.

A few years ago I found myself saying an involuntary goodbye to someone I’d rather kept a friend. It was one of those things that kind of just happened. We’d grown apart, and rather than a halfhearted rescue attempt that would only cheapen and further dilute what we had shared, it was better to sever the ties honourably.

“I wish you enough”, were her words to me.

At first it stung me as an odd and unkind thing to say. Why not wish me “all the best” or wish me “well in all things” as people normally would. I wanted grand wishes. Big words. I wanted “all the best”. Instead, I got “enough”? She wished me “enough”????

Angry and hurt … and probably lost too in many ways … I browsed through old letters she’d sent me during the course of our friendship, looking for some of the warmth and love that had been between us. Subconsciously searching for a reason to justify my hurt feelings. Until I found one quoting a poem I know she loves:

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.
I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.
I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.
I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.
I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I wish you enough “Hello’s” to get you through the final “Goodbye.”

– written by Bob Perks

After that, it was hard not to see the grace in her words. It was harder still to remember that we were no longer friends.I realised then that given the choice between “abundance” and “enough”… I’d choose the latter any day.

The photo of a half-finished dinner is taken at a family dinner in my parents garden a few years ago. I remember how ripe and lush the garden was with blooming flowers bathed in the rich golden light of the setting sun and birds singing all around while we chatted and ate… and somehow I just felt compelled to capture it in some way.

The plate in the picture is my grandmother’s… she is the heart and soul of my family and the only person whom I have ever known to truly have an abundance of unconditional love, time, attention and support to give to others.

I guess there are more associations at play here that may make the connection between the photo, the story and the theme of the week somewhat oblique.

Sorry about that 😉

Weekly Photo Challenge: Abundance

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abundance

  1. I have had the same experience with a dear friend, and have had difficulty trying to sort it out, wishing I could figure a way to handle it. Through your words, I now see that it doesn’t have to be such a strain; that perhaps letting a friend drift is part of a bigger process that I have no control over. Thank you for the insight.

Leave a Reply

